SOURCE: Vacation Tracker TITLE: How Do I Limit Users' Visibility? URL: https://vacationtracker.io/knowledge-base/how-do-i-limit-users-visibility/ LANG: en PUBLISHED: 2024-08-08 UPDATED: 2026-07-03 READING: 2 min SUMMARY: How Do I Limit Users' Visibility? # How Do I Limit Users' Visibility? # How Do I Limit Users' Visibility? By default, everyone can see who's off across every Department. Turn on the Visibility Manager add-on and each User only sees leaves from their own Department or their own individual leaves. Available on CompleteComplete plan only The Visibility Manager add-on is available exclusively on the Complete plan. ## How the Visibility Manager Works Example: Anna is a User in the Human Resources department, and her Approver is Peter. In the Department of Compliance, Lucas is a User, and Peter is also his Approver. By activating the Visibility Manager, Users will only be able to see leaves in their own department: - Anna can see leaves in the Human Resources department only. - Lucas can see leaves in the Compliance department only. - Since Peter is an Approver for both Compliance and Human Resources, he's able to view leaves for both departments. If you need help configuring your departments, please see: How Do I Edit Department Information? (https://vacationtracker.io/knowledge-base/how-do-i-edit-department-information/) ## Setting It Up - Go to the Vacation Tracker Dashboard — app.vacationtracker.io/signin (https://app.vacationtracker.io/signin). - On the left-hand side, click Workspace Settings → Add-ons. - Click View on the Visibility Manager card under My Add-ons. If you haven't subscribed yet, switch to the Discover More Add-ons tab and select Visibility Manager there to subscribe first. - On the Visibility Settings page, set Limit visibility for users to Yes. - A Users can see dropdown will appear. Pick the visibility scope: - Their department — Users only see leaves from people in their own department. - Personal leave records — Users only see their own leave records. - Click Save. ![Visibility Manager add-on settings page with the limit visibility toggle set to Yes and the dropdown for which users can see other users](https://cms.vacationtracker.io/uploads/helpdesk_artikal_how_do_i_limit_users_visibility_first_image_place_7b24692cad.png) Existing shared calendars & notifications Shared Calendars and Notifications created before the visibility settings change must be manually deleted if they do not comply with the new rules. Disabling ≠ Unsubscribing Disabling the automation (setting Limit visibility for users to No) will not cancel the subscription. If you want to turn off the subscription entirely, click the Unsubscribe from Add-on? button in the banner at the top of the Visibility Manager page. Admins only At this time, only Vacation Tracker Admins can set up or edit the Visibility Manager. Departments & Sub-Departments Do you need help creating different departments? See How Do I Create a Department within Vacation Tracker? (https://vacationtracker.io/knowledge-base/how-do-i-create-a-department-within-vacation-tracker/) Need to remove the automation? To unsubscribe from an Add-On / Automation, take a look at: How Do I Unsubscribe From an Automation? (https://vacationtracker.io/knowledge-base/how-do-i-unsubscribe-from-an-automation/) ### What's Next? Unsubscribe From an Automation (https://vacationtracker.io/knowledge-base/how-do-i-unsubscribe-from-an-automation/) Set Up a Leave Request Notice Period (https://vacationtracker.io/knowledge-base/how-to-set-up-a-leave-request-notice-period/) Limit Users' Leave Duration (https://vacationtracker.io/knowledge-base/how-do-i-limit-users-leave-duration/) Need help? Contact our Support team via email (mailto:hello@vacationtracker.io) or chat (#), Monday to Friday, 9 AM – 5 PM EST.