Connecticut Leave Laws
In Connecticut, employers are not required to provide employees with vacation benefits, either paid or unpaid. If an employer chooses to provide such benefits, it must comply with the terms of its established policy or employment contract.
The rollover policy
- Statutory Provisions Addressing Vacation Pay
If an employer offers vacation time, the amount of vacation time an employee is entitled to is governed by the terms of the employment contract or collective bargaining agreement. “Wages” do not include vacation time (Fulco v. Norwich Roman Catholic Diocesan Corp., 609 A.2d 1034, 1037 (Conn. App. Ct. 1992)).
- Use-It-or-Lose-It Policy
Connecticut has no statute governing the policy
- Payment of Accrued Vacation on Termination
If employment is terminated, employers that offer vacation time must pay the employee’s accrued, unused vacation time and other fringe benefits as wages as specified under the contract or agreement (Conn. Gen. Stat. Ann. § 31-76k).
It applies to employers with 50 or more employees working in Connecticut.
Employers are required to give 1 hour for every 40 hours worked up to 40 hours max per year.
Employees are allowed to use or carry over a maximum of 40 hours of paid sick leave per year.
Sick leave covers the following reasons:
Employee’s or a family member’s illness, injury or condition; preventive care; To care for a child or spouse for the same purposes listed above; medical care, counseling, relocation, or obtaining services from victim service organization resulting from family violence or sexual assault.
Maternity, Paternity, FMLA
In addition to the Family and Medical Leave Act (FMLA) and the Pregnancy Discrimination Act, Connecticut has the following laws regarding Maternity and Paternity Leave:
Connecticut Family and Medical Leave (CTFMLA)
Employers with 75 or more employees are required to provide job-protected, unpaid leave up to 16 workweeks in a 24-month period of time. Employees are eligible for leave if they have been employed for 12 months and worked at least 1000 hours within one year. Leave covers the following reasons:
- The birth or adoption of the employee’s child
- The placement of a foster child with the employee
- Care for the spouse, son, daughter or parent of the employee with a serious health condition
- An employee’s own serious health condition
- An organ or bone marrow donation
- Any qualifying exigency when the employee’s spouse, child or parent is on active duty or is notified of an impending call or order to active duty in the Armed Forces
An employee is required to provide advance notice for leave due to the birth or adoption of a child and for planned medical treatments.
The maximum amount of time for both spouses to take on a combined basis is the same as for one individual – 16 workweeks.
Pregnancy Discrimination and Accommodation in the Workplace
Employers with 3 or more employees must provide employees with:
- unpaid pregnancy leave due to disability related to pregnancy or childbirth, typically 6 to 8 weeks
- protection against discrimination related to pregnancy, childbirth or ther related condition such as breastfeeding and
- reasonable accommodation, job protection and reinstatement. Employer is not allowed to require employee to take the leave if the reasonable accommodation is available.
Jury Duty Leave
Any employee who receives a jury summons, responds to the summons, or serves as a juror is protected from any kind of rejection or punishment. An employer is prohibited from discharging, threatening, or coercing such employees. Employees are entitled to leave from work for the duration of jury service. Full-time employees (those working at least 30 hours per week in a non-temporary capacity) must be paid their regular wages for the first five days of jury service unless the employees would not have accrued regular wages or would not have worked more than a half shift that extends into another day. An employer may not require an employee who has served eight hours of jury duty in one day to work in excess of those eight hours.
No federal or state law require an employer to provide an employee with paid or unpaid bereavement leave or with any time off to organize or attend a close family member’s funeral. Employers may choose to provide bereavement leave and may be required to comply with any bereavement policy or practice they maintain.
Connecticut has no voting leave statute or state law requiring employers to provide employees with both paid or unpaid time off to vote.
Connecticut employers must allow employees who are members of the U.S. armed forces or the National Guard to take unpaid leave in order to perform military duty, including attending meetings or drills, in addition to the federal USERRA. Employees who take leave for these reasons may not lose vacation or holiday benefits or be unfairly discriminated against with respect to promotion, continued employment, reemployment, or reappointment.
Please consult your local legal counsel to learn more about Connecticut Leave Laws.
To learn more about laws in various countries, check out our Leave Laws page.