Nevada Leave Laws
No federal or state law requires employers to provide paid or unpaid vacation time for their employees. However, if employers choose to offer a vacation leave, paid or unpaid, to their employees it must comply with applicable state law or employment contract.
The rollover policy
- Statutory Provisions Addressing Vacation Pay
The state of Nevada has no statute governing the payment of vacation time.
- Use-It-or-Lose-It Policy
The state of Nevada has no statute governing the policy
- Payment of Accrued Vacation on Termination
Employers are not required to pay employees for an accrued but unused vacation at the time of voluntary or involuntary termination. However, employers should ensure that their approach complies with existing policies and past practices. (Nevada Office of the Labor Commissioner: FAQs.)
Nevada Paid Sick Leave Laws
Employers with 50 or more employees are required to provide paid sick leave. It applies to all covered employees.
Employers are required to give at least 0.01923 hours of leave per hour worked. Capped at 40 hours used/accrued annually. Employees are allowed to use a maximum of 40 hours or frontload 40 hours.
Reasons for sick leave are not specified.
Maternity, Paternity, FMLA
In addition to the Family and Medical Leave Act (FMLA) and the Pregnancy Discrimination Act, Nevada has the following laws regarding Maternity and Paternity Leave:
The Nevada Pregnant Workers’ Fairness Act requires employers with 15 or more employees to provide employees with reasonable accommodation or leave due to conditions related to pregnancy or childbirth. It applies to each working day in each of 20 or more calendar weeks in the current or preceding calendar year.
The Nevada Fair Employment Practices (FEP) Provides protection against discrimination based on sex.
The Act also specifically provides that, if an employer grants leave with or without pay, or leave without loss of seniority to employees for sickness or disability because of a medical condition, it is an unlawful employment practice to fail or refuse to extend the same benefits to any female employee for a condition relating to pregnancy, childbirth, or a related medical condition.
The covered employee must be allowed to use the leave before and after childbirth, miscarriage, or any other natural resolution of her pregnancy, if the leave is granted, accumulated, or accrued as part of her employment benefits (NV Rev. Stat. Sec. 613.335).
Jury Duty Leave
An employer may not terminate or threaten to terminate an employee for serving as a juror or prospective juror. An employee cannot be required to use sick leave or vacation time to cover any leave taken for jury duty. An employer may not require an employee to work within the eight hours before the employee is to appear for jury duty. Additionally, an employee who served for four or more hours in a day cannot be required to work between 5 p.m. that day and 3 a.m. the following day.
No federal or state law require an employer to provide the employee with paid or unpaid bereavement leave or with any time off to organize or attend a close family member’s funeral.
An employer must grant an employee sufficient time away from work in order to vote. “Sufficient time” is based on the distance from the worksite to the polling location, not exceeding three hours. An employee must request leave to vote prior to the day of the election. Employers may designate the hours the employee may take leave to vote. Voting leave must be paid.
Nev. Rev. Stat. Ann. §§ 412.139, 412.606
Employers may not discriminate against members of the Nevada National Guard, or the national guard of another state, and may not fire an employee because he or she assembles for training, participates in-field training, is called to active duty, or otherwise meets as required for ceremonies, maneuvers, and other military duties.
Please consult your local legal counsel to learn more about Nevada Leave Laws.
To learn more about laws in various countries, check out our Leave Laws page.